You are accused of domestic abuse. The first step is figuring out whether you are wrongly accused or not. While this might seem like an easy thing to tell, Laurie Poole has been working as an Oklahoma bail bondsman long enough to know that sometimes . . . it is not. Not only is Laurie a skilled and efficient bail bondsman – leading a 5-year-old bail bonds business, Asset Bail Bonds – but she is trustworthy. This is why her clients often confide in her.
Domestic abuse is a tricky thing. For example, a common tricky situation is a woman beating up a man to the point of raw fear. The man strikes back. The woman calls the police. Despite the woman being just as much at fault as the man, he is the only one slapped with a domestic abuse charge. Even more, there are situations where domestic abuse might not even seem like domestic abuse.
Let us say that you are accused of stalking, destruction of private property, or even great lengths of intimidation. All of those things can be classified as domestic abuse. This is a confusing territory for some, which is exactly why the accused tend to find comfort in their bail bondsmen.
Now, obviously if you are guilty, you are going to be stuck with the consequences. This is why it might come in handy to know the general facts and repercussions of domestic abuse charges. If you are an Oklahoma citizen, Laurie Poole’s data can help educate you. Working for so long in the industry of OKC bail bonds has given Laurie an edge. Even more: it backs up the fact that she knows what she is talking about.
For starters, in accordance to Oklahoma’s legal documentation, domestic abuse is defined as “any act of physical harm, or the threat of imminent physical harm which is committed by an adult, emancipated minor, or minor child 13 years of age or older against another adult, emancipated minor or minor child who are family or household members or who are or were in a dating relationship”.
The severity of the domestic abuse charge can actually vary between a misdemeanor and a felony; depending on the amount of past incidents or any aggravating factors. Misdemeanor domestic abuse cases usually result in a $5,000 fine and up to one year in the corresponding county’s jail.
A felony domestic abuse charge entails another fine of $5,000, but with (up to) 4 years in a Department of Corrections. In addition to the general abuse charges, extra consequences can be added on for things like domestic abuse of a pregnant woman or domestic abuse with the intent to do bodily harm.
If you are innocent of the abuse charge stacked against you, there are several things Laurie suggests you remember. As a bail bondsman in OKC, Laurie knows that anything you tell the police at the time of arrest can and will be used against you in court. Legally, you do not have to tell the police anything except confirmation of your identity. When you are in custody, do not make or sign any written statements. Call an attorney and call your Oklahoma bail bondsman immediately.