Driving while under the influence is a good way to land a DUI or DWI. This is why most people try to avoid the situation to begin with. Unfortunately, sometimes the situation of avoiding is easier said than done and you end up with a DUI/DWI anyway. In such a scenario, it is important to know what will happen to you; including the necessary steps to take post-charge.
While every state is different when it comes to their driving under the influence laws, Oklahoma is still standard in its process. Laurie Poole has been leading her OKC bail bonds business, Asset Bail Bonds, long enough to understand the Oklahoma bail bonds procedure down to a tee. Poole starts off by stressing the significance of utilizing an Oklahoma City bondsman business like Asset Bail Bonds. With their help, you will be out of jail faster than getting in.
The process after getting arrested is fairly straightforward when you stick with a bondsman: you are detained. You hire an OKC bail bondsman. That bail bondsman takes care of your bond in a discreet and efficient manner. You are no longer detained.
You learn from your mistakes; avoiding DUIs and DWIs for the rest of your life. Although it is easier said than done, Laurie Poole also knows from her experience working as an OKC bail bondsman that sometimes a reward is worth the challenge – and staying out of jail seems like quite the reward, does it not?
Furthermore, she also points out that there are several things you can do to prevent the situation in the first place. For starters, it helps to know what exactly a DUI/DWI charge entails. Normally based on your blood alcohol content (BAC), a driving under the influence charge is given after a breathalyzer test is administered.
If you are under 21, you are already in deep water. If you are over the age of 21 and your BAC is 0.08% or more, you are looking at a DUI/DWI charge. In addition, if you hold a CDL, you will receive a driving while intoxicated charge if your BAC is 0.04% or more.
Even then, you are not in the clear if you test under a 0.08% level. When it comes to the Oklahoma law, you are driving while intoxicated if your BAC is between 0.05% and 0.08%.
When you are driving with a BAC between 0.05% and 0.08%, you will receive a license suspension of:
- 30 days – first occurrence
- 6 months – second occurrence
- 1 year – third occurrence
When you are driving with a BAC of 0.08% or more, you will receive a license suspension of:
- 180 days – first occurrence
- 1 year – second occurrence (with 1 previous DUI in the last 10 years)
- 3 years – third occurrence (with 2 previous DUIs in the last 10 years)
When you are under 21 and driving under the influence, you will receive a license suspension of:
- 6 months – first occurrence
- 12 months – second occurrence
- 36 months – third occurrence
You might also be subject to any of the following consequences:
- Participation in a Alcohol and Drug Assessment and Evaluation
- $25 license reinstatement fee
- $75 processing fee
- $200 trauma care fee
- $15 mental health fee
- $175 limited-driving privilege fee
- $50 ignition interlock DPS fee
The administrative consequences are in addition to the criminal consequences.